On 14 June, the national day of mourning at 20.00 a free remembrance concert „Past. Present. Eternity“, dedicated to the victims of inhuman regimes, will take place on the initiative of the Estonian Institute of Historical Memory. The theme of the event, which will be held at the Memorial to Estonia’s Victims of Communism in Maarjamäe, is journey through time.

The concert features Lenna Kuurmaa, Ott Lepland, Liisi Koikson, the renowned choir Collegium Musicale (conductor Endrik Üksvärav), string quartet Prezioso, Kadri-Ann Sumera (piano), Valmar Kirves (harmonica) and composer-DJ Sander Mölder.

The creative director of the concert, the renowned conductor Endrik Üksvärav noted that the music which will be heard at the Memorial on the evening of 14 June gives commemoration a beautiful form and content.

“On the one hand, with this concert we are inviting everyone to remember the tragic history, and on the other, to cherish the values of freedom and humanity. It’s a reflection on human life, fate and freedom. The concert will feature both well-known pieces of music which will be performed by beloved artists, and also compositions unknown to the public thus far – the latter created by Arnold Susi and Tuudur Vettik. In its essence the concert is uplifting and full of hope for the future,” said Üksvärav.

According to Sergei Metlev, public and partner relations manager at the Estonian Institute of Historical Memory, the beautiful Estonian music at the Memorial will unite generations. “The mass repressions of the 20th century, the Memorial bearing the names of the victims, will not be forgotten by Estonian people. But the passing of time requires the reconceptualization of these experiences and new forms of commemoration. The remembrance concert conveys the message that despite the pain we are standing here together, looking back at past generations with gratitude and towards the future with hope,” said Metlev.

The programme includes “The Singer’s Childhood” and „Reflections with Hando Runnel “ by V. Tormis; “Blessed is the Man” by C. Kreek; “Nothing but Praise for You” by L. Koikson; “Hear Me” and “Home” by O. Lepland; „ Beauty of the Evening”, “The Lord’s Prayer“, “I Thank You” and “Farewell” by P. Uusberg; “Here I’ll Stay” by L. Kuurma and M. Raud; “Prayer” by T. Mägi; “To You” by O. Lepland and M. Kärmas; “On the River of Forgetfulness” by A. Oit; “Homeland Tune” by H. Eller; “Till Death” by A. Mattiisen; “I Buried My Sister…” by A. Susi; “The Moon” by T. Vettik (repressed composer); “He Flies Towards the Beehive” by P. Sarapik; “Ukuaru Waltz” by A. Pärt; “1981” by L. Sumera.

The concert begins at 20.00 and ends at 21.30. Admission is free.

From the morning of 14 June until the afternoon the installation “Sea of Tears” is on display on Freedom Square in Tallinn.

Head organizer: Estonian Institute of Historical Memory. Co-organizers: Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Estonia, Estonian Institute of Human Rights, Federation of Estonian Student Unions, Estonian National Youth Council.

Creative director: Endrik Üksvärav. Concert director: Margus Kasterpalu.

Concert supporters: AS Amalfi, Enn Meri, Hans H. Luik, Carri Ginter.

Website of the Memorial: www.memoriaal.ee

Website of the Estonian Institute of Historical Memory: http://www.mnemosyne.ee/


More information:

Sergei Metlev

Estonian Institute of Historical Memory

Public and Partner Relations Manager


+372 53 35 96 39